Skip to Navigation

Fight for Federal Trails Funding Continues

For Immediate Release 8-29-2012

Contact: Kristy Kibler
International Mountain Bicycling Association 
Government Affairs Coordinator
303.545.9011 ext. 108

The Recreational Trails Program (RTP) — a federal funding program that supports natural surface trails — was reauthorized by the U.S. Congress earlier this year. The RTP is an $85 million program and strongly benefits mountain bikers by making available funds for the development and maintenance of thousands of trail miles.

Unfortunately, the reauthorization also included a new provision that allows governors to opt-out of funding the program, thus diverting the money back to a general fund that pays for traditional transportation projects and ultimately failing to invest in the critical programs states needs to generate economic activity, attract tourists and encourage people to get outdoors. Governors that decide to refuse RTP money must do so by Sept. 1.

On August 15, IMBA delivered letters to all 50 governors, each signed by trail groups from their state. At least 1154 organizations nationwide signed on, asking their governors to continue to fund the valuable RTP work in their state.

IMBA applauds the following states that have chosen to continue trails funding:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • California
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Massachusetts
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • New York
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Pennsylvania
  • South Dakota
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

States Confirmed Opt-Out:

  • Florida
  • Kansas

IMBA will continue its work with national and state trails advocacy organizations to ensure that as many states as possible receive and make available RTP funds. Keep checking back as the above list will be updated daily as we count down to the Sept. 1 deadline.